Pin as visited
Pin as planned
Photo of Cinque Torri
Pin Cinque TorriCinque Torri
InfoPhotosVisited Planned

Cinque Torri, also known as Five Towers in English, is a group of five prominent rock formations located in the eastern part of the Italian Alps, near the town of Cortina d'Ampezzo in the Veneto region.

The towers are famous among hikers, mountaineers, and climbers, and offer stunning panoramic views of the surrounding mountains and valleys. The area is also popular for winter sports, including skiing and snowboarding.

The five towers, made of dolomite rock, are named after their distinct shapes: Torre Grande (the Great Tower), Torre Seconda (the Second Tower), Torre Latina (the Latin Tower), Torre Quarta (the Fourth Tower), and Torre Piccola (the Small Tower).

During World War I, the area was heavily fortified and saw intense fighting between Italian and Austrian troops. The remains of trenches, tunnels, and other military structures can still be seen in the area today.