Pin as visited
Pin as planned
Photo of Easter island
Pin Easter islandEaster island
InfoPhotosVisited Planned

Easter Island, also known as Rapa Nui, is a small island located in the southeastern Pacific Ocean, and is part of the territory of Chile. It is best known for its enigmatic stone sculptures, known as Moai, which are among the most recognizable cultural icons of the Pacific. The Moai are monolithic human figures that range in height from 4 to 33 feet, and were carved by the Rapa Nui people between the 12th and 17th centuries.

The island was likely settled by Polynesian sailors in the 4th or 5th century, and over time the Rapa Nui people developed a complex society and culture, which is evident in their art, architecture, and written records. The island was later visited by Dutch and Spanish explorers, and the population declined dramatically due to slave raids and disease brought by the visitors. In the late 19th century, the island was annexed by Chile, and today the Rapa Nui people are considered a distinct ethnic group and a recognized indigenous people.

Easter Island is now a UNESCO World Heritage Site and is protected as a national park. Visitors to the island can admire the Moai, as well as other archaeological sites and cultural landmarks, and learn about the unique history and culture of the Rapa Nui people. The island is also known for its beautiful beaches, scenic hiking trails, and abundant wildlife, and is considered a destination for eco-tourism. Despite its remote location, Easter Island continues to be a popular destination for tourists and is considered one of the most mysterious and intriguing places in the world.