Pin as visited
Pin as planned
Photo of Western Ghats
Pin Western GhatsWestern Ghats
InfoPhotosVisited Planned

The Western Ghats, also known as Sahyadri, is a mountain range located in India that runs parallel to the western coast of the country, from the border of Gujarat and Maharashtra to the southern tip of India in Tamil Nadu. It is a UNESCO World Heritage site and is known for its biodiversity and high levels of endemism.

The Western Ghats cover an area of about 140,000 square kilometers and are home to many unique and endangered species of plants and animals. The range is divided into three regions: the northern, central, and southern Western Ghats.

The northern Western Ghats are home to the Tapi and Godavari river basins and are characterized by their high plateaus and grasslands. The central Western Ghats are the most biodiverse and are home to many endemic species of birds, mammals, and reptiles. The southern Western Ghats are home to the Nilgiri Mountains and are known for their tea and coffee plantations.